Lifestyle, Magazine

Fit in the head, fit in old age - 7 tips for your cognitive performance

Cognitive performance article image

Don't lose your mind now! Especially not if you want to live a long and healthy life. A good mind - or rather a good cognitive performance - is an important prerequisite for a long life. In school, training and generally in your younger years, you learn a lot and thus keep your brain fit. But as you get older, you learn fewer and fewer new things. You may be familiar with exercises such as brain jogging, Sudoku or puzzles that promise to improve your cognitive performance and thus keep you healthy longer.

However, you can do a lot more to help your brain stay fit. An important concept of brain fitness is neuroplasticity. This means that the brain is flexible and can adapt optimally to the demands and external influences. To do this, the brain forms new synapses and adapts everything on a cellular level so that it can work optimally.

You can think of the connections in your brain as little trails. The more often you practice something, the more often you walk this path. This makes it wider and you get to know it better and better. If you don't use the path for a longer period of time, it grows a little bit wider again. So many learned skills will not be completely unlearned. After a while, it just needs a little practice again. Just like the motto: "You don't unlearn that, it's like riding a bike."

Nutrition - feed your brain properly

If you eat healthy, you not only keep your body fit, but also your mind. Proteins help build muscle and regenerate after a hard training session. But what supports the brain in growing and regenerating?

Your brain consumes a quarter of the total energy you take in. This is remarkable when you consider that it is only a fraction of your body weight, weighing about 1500 grams. This makes it all the more important that you eat the right things. In addition to general healthy eating, there are a few substances that are particularly beneficial for neuroplasticity. These include turmeric, the yellow spice that is the basis of most curry powders. Resveratrol, which you've probably read about in some of our articles, is also a real magic bullet for your brain. Red grapes and peanuts naturally contain significant amounts of resveratrol.

In a large-scale study, the molecule improved cognitive performance in older women. Here you can read more about the study.

Resveratrol Powder Capsules
Resveratrol from MoleQlar is available in powder and capsule form.

Polyphenols with antioxidant properties can be found in many other plant foods (read here the article on antioxidants). Especially many are hidden in blueberries. One ingredient is said to be particularly beneficial for brain regeneration. We are talking about sulforaphane. This substance is particularly abundant in broccoli, cabbage, arugula, mustard, cress and horseradish.

Exercise - boosts your cognitive performance

To keep your mind fit, you should also keep your body fit. Sports activities train your brain, especially in areas that are responsible for motor skills. If you learn new sports or new movement sequences, you train your brain in particular.

You probably know that you feel uncoordinated at first with new movements. But with practice comes improvement. For example, can you move your toes separately? No? - that's the way most people feel. Because we wear shoes every day, we don't need the separate mobility of our toes. But if you start to train it, you will realize that it is possible. First you need to find the right trails for it and then it just takes some practice to widen the overgrown trails again.

There are studies that have shown that dancing in particular is very healthy for cognitive performance. A lot of things come together there; the movement and the demanding coordination, the music and the sense of rhythm associated with it. And since we usually don't dance alone, the company also contributes a positive effect.

Friends

Social contacts are good for you, no question about it. They make us happy and balanced. The positive effect of social contacts on our health has been proven many times. Particularly in old age, social contacts and exchanges with others help us to stay fit in the head.

Creativity

Think outside the box! Getting creative and not always thinking in familiar patterns trains the brain. Let's stay with the example of the trails: Sometimes it's good to try out a new trail. You can take a different path to reach the same destination, maybe even faster. In return, you see a new environment, get to know new processes, and train your cognitive ability along the way.

Languages

Speaking many languages is not only beneficial for one's career. People who grew up speaking several languages also performed better in cognitive performance tests. They were able to adapt more quickly to the new demands of tasks that were set differently.

Growing up bilingual is probably too late by the time you read this article. But learning new languages also challenges and enhances your cognitive performance. You improve the plasticity of your brain by learning new languages, because several terms in different languages are stored per term.

Language Bilingual Language

Chewing for healthy cognition

Yes, you read correctly, good chewing and healthy oral hygiene contribute to a healthy brain. The so-called occlusion function is important for this. That is, how well your teeth and thus the jaw fit together. So if you have always worn your braces regularly, you will hopefully benefit from them for a long time to come. According to a study, the correct function of the jaw muscles leads to certain brain areas being activated and the brain being better supplied with blood. In addition, proper chewing is said to be able to prevent plaques from forming in the brain, which are believed to be responsible for Alzheimer's disease.

Sleep

Sufficient sleep is important for the body and cognitive performance. The recommended amount of sleep is about seven hours per night. When you sleep enough, your body can regenerate and thus perform better. This is also true for your brain cells. They need to recover at night in order to form as many new synapses as possible during the day and thus support your increased performance through sports, dancing, creative activities and new languages.

Literature:

  • Hewston, P., Kennedy, C. C., Borhan, S., Merom, D., Santaguida, P., Ioannidis, G., Marr, S., Santesso, N., Thabane, L., Bray, S., & Papaioannou, A. (2021). SYSTEMATIC REVIEW Effects of dance on cognitive function in older adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Age and Ageing, 50, 1084-1092. https://doi.org/10.1093/ageing/afaa270
  • Lopez-Chaichio, L., Padial-Molina, M., O'Valle, F., Gil-Montoya, J. A., Catena, A., & Galindo-Moreno, P. (2021). Oral health and healthy chewing for healthy cognitive aging: A comprehensive narrative review. Gerodontology, 38(2), 126-135. https://doi.org/10.1111/GER.12510
  • Poulose, S. M., Miller, M. G., Scott, T., & Shukitt-Hale, B. (n.d.). Nutritional Factors Affecting Adult Neurogenesis and Cognitive Function. https://doi. org/10.3945/an.117.016261
  • Quinteros Baumgart, C., & Billick, S. B. (n.d.). Positive Cognitive Effects of Bilingualism and Multilingualism on Cerebral Function: a Review. https://doi. org/10.1007/s11126-017-9532-9

Graphics:

The images were purchased under licence from Canva.

You have already voted!
author-avatar

About Priska Wörl

Priska first studied biology and molecular biology before starting a master's degree in molecular medicine. She has been involved with written texts since she was 13 - initially as a newspaper carrier. In the meantime, Priska writes for various magazines herself and, in addition to science, also deals with psychological, cultural and social topics in her texts.

More posts from our blog

Lifestyle, Magazin

Fit im Kopf, fit im Alter – 7 Tipps für deine kognitive Leistung

Kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit Artikelbild

Jetzt bloß nicht den Verstand verlieren! Erst recht nicht, wenn du lange gesund leben willst. Ein guter Verstand – besser gesagt eine gute kognitive Leistung – ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für ein langes Leben. In der Schule, Ausbildung und allgemein in jungen Jahren lernst du viel dazu und hältst dein Gehirn dadurch fit. Doch mit dem Alter lernt man immer weniger Neues. Vielleicht kennst du Übungen wie Gehirnjogging, Sudoku oder Rätsel, die versprechen, deine kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit zu verbessern und dich dadurch länger gesund zu halten.

Du kannst jedoch noch einiges mehr tun, um dein Gehirn in seiner Fitness zu unterstützen. Ein wichtiger Begriff der Gehirnfitness ist die Neuroplastizität. Das bedeutet, dass das Gehirn flexibel ist und sich optimal an die Anforderungen und äußeren Einflüsse angleichen kann. Dafür bildet das Hirn neue Synapsen und passt auf zellulärer Ebene alles an, sodass es optimal arbeiten kann.

Du kannst dir die Verbindungen in deinem Gehirn wie kleine Trampelpfade vorstellen. Je öfter du etwas übst, desto häufiger gehst du diesen Pfad. Dadurch wird er breiter und du kennst ihn auch immer besser. Wenn du den Pfad über längere Zeit nicht nutzt, wächst er wieder ein wenig zu. Viele gelernte Fähigkeiten wird man also nicht ganz verlernen. Nach einer Zeit braucht es lediglich wieder ein wenig Übung. Ganz nach dem Motto: „Das verlernt man nicht, das ist wie Fahrrad fahren.“

Ernährung – füttere dein Gehirn richtig

Wer sich gesund ernährt, hält nicht nur den Körper, sondern auch den Geist fit. Proteine helfen beim Muskelaufbau und der Regeneration nach einer harten Trainingseinheit. Was unterstützt aber das Gehirn beim Wachsen und Regenerieren?

Dein Gehirn verbraucht ein Viertel der gesamten Energie, die du aufnimmst. Das ist bemerkenswert, wenn man bedenkt, dass es mit einem Gewicht von etwa 1500 Gramm bloß einen Bruchteil des Körpergewichts ausmacht. Umso wichtiger ist, dass du das Richtige zu dir nimmst. Neben allgemeiner gesunder Ernährung gibt es ein paar Stoffe, die besonders förderlich für die Neuroplastizität sind. Dazu zählt Kurkuma, das gelbe Gewürz, das die Basis der meisten Curry-Pulver ist. Resveratrol, von dem du sicher schon in einigen unserer Artikel gelesen hast, ist auch eine wahre Wunderwaffe für dein Gehirn. Rote Trauben und Erdnüsse enthalten natürlicherweise nennenswerte Mengen an Resveratrol.

In einer großangelegten Studie hat das Molekül die kognitive Leistung von älteren Frauen verbessert.

Resveratrol Pulver Kapseln
Resveratrol von MoleQlar ist in Pulver- und Kapselform verfügbar.

In vielen weiteren pflanzlichen Lebensmitteln finden sich Polyphenole mit antioxidativen Eigenschaften. Besonders viele verstecken sich in Heidelbeeren. Ein Inhaltsstoff soll für die Regeneration im Gehirn besonders förderlich sein. Die Rede ist von Sulforaphan. Dieser Stoff kommt besonders häufig in Brokkoli, Kohlgemüse, Rucola, Senf, Kresse und Meerrettich vor.

Bewegung – bringt deine kognitive Leistung in Schwung

Um den Geist fit zu halten, solltest du auch deinen Körper fit halten. Sportliche Aktivitäten trainieren dein Gehirn besonders in Arealen, die für die Motorik zuständig sind. Wer neue Sportarten oder neue Bewegungsabläufe erlernt, schult das Gehirn ganz besonders.

Du kennst es sicher, dass man sich bei neuen Bewegungen erstmal unkoordiniert vorkommt. Mit der Übung kommt dann aber auch die Verbesserung. Kannst du zum Beispiel deine Zehen getrennt voneinander bewegen? Nein? – das geht den meisten Menschen so. Weil wir jeden Tag Schuhe tragen, brauchen wir die separate Beweglichkeit unserer Zehen nicht. Wenn du aber anfängst, das zu trainieren, wirst du merken, dass es möglich ist. Zunächst musst du die richtigen Trampelpfade dafür finden und dann braucht es nur etwas Übung, um die zugewachsenen Trampelpfade wieder zu verbreitern.

Es gibt Studien, die gezeigt haben, dass insbesondere Tanzen sehr gesund für die kognitive Leistung ist. Dort kommt vieles zusammen; die Bewegung und die anspruchsvolle Koordination, die Musik und das damit zusammenhängende Rhythmusgempfinden. Und da wir meistens nicht alleine tanzen, trägt auch noch die Gesellschaft einen positiven Effekt bei.

Freunde

Soziale Kontakte tun gut, keine Frage. Sie machen uns glücklich und ausgeglichen. Der positive Effekt von sozialen Kontakten auf unsere Gesundheit wurde mittlerweile mehrfach nachgewiesen. Ganz besonders im Alter helfen soziale Kontakte und der Austausch mit anderen, dass wir im Kopf fit bleiben.

Kreativität

Think outside the box! Wer kreativ wird und nicht immer in gewohnten Mustern denkt, trainiert das Gehirn. Bleiben wir bei dem Beispiel mit den Trampelpfaden: Manchmal ist es gut, mal einen neuen Trampelpfad auszuprobieren. Du kannst auch auf einem anderen Weg zum gleichen Ziel kommen, vielleicht sogar schneller. Dafür siehst du eine neue Umgebung, lernst neue Abläufe kennen und trainierst nebenbei auch noch deine kognitive Fähigkeit.

Sprachen

Viele Sprachen zu sprechen ist nicht nur förderlich für die Karriere. Menschen, die mehrsprachig aufgewachsen sind, schnitten auch in kognitiven Leistungstests besser ab. Sie konnten sich bei unterschiedlich gestellten Aufgaben schneller an die neue Forderung anpassen.

Um zweisprachig aufzuwachsen, ist es vermutlich schon zu spät, wenn du diesen Artikel liest. Aber auch das Lernen neuer Sprachen fordert und fördert deine kognitive Leistung. Du verbesserst durch neue Sprachen die Plastizität deines Gehirns, denn pro Begriff sind dann mehrere Begriffe in unterschiedlichen Sprachen abgespeichert.

Sprache Bilingual Language

Kauen für eine gesunde Kognition

Ja du hast richtig gelesen, gutes Kauen und eine gesunde Mundhygiene tragen zu einem gesunden Gehirn bei. Wichtig ist dafür die sogenannte Okklusionsfunktion. Also wie gut deine Zähne und somit der Kiefer aufeinander passen. Wer seine Zahnspange also immer regelmäßig getragen hat, profitiert hoffentlich noch lange davon. Die richtige Funktion der Kiefermuskulatur führt laut einer Studie dazu, dass bestimmte Hirnareale aktiviert werden und das Gehirn besser durchblutet wird. Außerdem soll richtiges Kauen verhindern können, dass sich Plaques im Gehirn ansetzen, die für Alzheimer verantwortlich sein sollen.

Schlaf

Ausreichend Schlaf ist wichtig für den Körper und die kognitive Leistung. Die empfohlene Schlafdauer beträgt etwa sieben Stunden pro Nacht. Wenn du genügend schläfst, kann dein Körper regenerieren und somit mehr Leistung erbringen. Das gilt auch für deine Gehirnzellen. Sie müssen sich nachts erholen, um am Tag möglichst viele neue Synapsen zu bilden und so deine Leistungssteigerung durch Sport, Tanzen, kreative Tätigkeiten und neue Sprachen zu unterstützen.