Lifestyle, Magazine

Colds & immune system

Colds Immune system Vitamind Supplements

The days are getting shorter, it's getting cold and rainy outside and where a few weeks ago the trees were still green in bloom, they are now cloaked in red, gold and brown. Autumn has begun and with it the cold season. Suddenly our noses start to run, we feel faint and the question arises. Why again?

What makes us so susceptible to infectious diseases, especially in the fall? Why does our immune system fail to defend us against pathogens? And what is the difference between the flu and a cold? So that you are better informed, we will give you an overview and at the end you will also learn what protects you from such illnesses so that you are better prepared against colds in the future.

What is a cold anyway?

Before we get into the topic, we first need to clarify what a cold actually is. In medical terms, the term refers to a mild upper respiratory tract infection. This must be distinguished from, for example, the flu, which is caused by the influenza virus, and a Covid-19 infection.

Now, the common cold is not an illness per se - rather, it is an umbrella term for a whole range of pathogens that all trigger similar symptoms. Rhinoviruses, respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), parainfluenza or adenoviruses, all of these pathogens can lead to "cold symptoms". These include

  • Stuffy or runny nose
  • Sore throat
  • Headache
  • Fatigue
  • Slight cough

The symptoms can be slightly different for everyone and in most cases a cold will clear up after a few days. However, depending on the age group, this can be very different. RSV infections are the most common reason why children have to go to hospital in their first year of life. Which complicates the whole thing further: Each virus family has several hundred offshoots. If we become infected with one virus, the next one can trick our immune response again.

Rhinitis Immune system Cold
The wave of colds comes around the same time every year. Depending on the pathogen spectrum, the illnesses can be more severe or milder.

Influenza and Covid-19 - related, but more dangerous

Influenza caused by influenza viruses must be distinguished from the common cold. An infection with influenza can cause more severe symptoms, often including a high fever and a strong feeling of illness. Here too, the illness usually heals on its own, but lasts longer.

However, an influenza infection can also be so severe, particularly in older or immunocompromised people, that they have to go to hospital for medical treatment. This is similar to Covid-19, which, unlike the common cold viruses, also affects the lower respiratory tract and can cause severe viral pneumonia under certain circumstances.

Why are we more susceptible to colds in the fall?

There are many factors that cause us to become infected more often in the fall. Some of them are:

  • Less sunlight: The days are getting shorter and our body can produce less vitamin D due to the reduced sunlight
  • Dry air: In the cold seasons, we spend most of our time indoors. The heating air dries out our mucous membranes and viruses find it easier to penetrate our bodies
  • Seasonality: virus populations fluctuate throughout the year. The rhinovirus, which is responsible for more than a quarter of all colds, spreads rapidly in the fall. For example, UV radiation, which is weaker in the cold season, also has an influence on the spread of pathogens.

Fact or myth? If you go out with wet hair, you will catch a cold more quickly. This is a myth. The cold, even if it is in the word cold, has little to do with the risk of infection. We are actually more likely to catch a cold from the lack of fresh air, as viruses feel particularly at home in dry rooms. However, there is a little bit of truth in this statement. Wet hair makes us cool down a little faster, which in turn can weaken our immune system.

Immune system scheme Akg
Our immune system with its various effector cells defends itself against invaders of all kinds.

What can we do to protect ourselves against colds?

Now that we have seen that a whole range of pathogens can be behind the symptoms, we need different strategies against the viruses. A few general tips are:

  • Ventilate (shock) frequently. This renews the air and makes it more difficult for viruses to spread in the room
  • Hygiene. Washing your hands, as we have often heard during the pandemic, can also be helpful. If we touch our mucous membranes or eyes with contaminated hands, the viruses can enter the body more quickly
  • Sport: Regular exercise strengthens our immune system
  • Sauna: As well as strengthening the immune system, regular sauna visits can also protect against cardiovascular disease and even reduce overall mortality rates

Which dietary supplements are useful?

Let's admit it, colds are annoying. Every year we are plagued by them anew and the doctor we trust can't really help either, as there is no medication against cold viruses. This is not the case with influenza, where antiviral medication is available for severe cases.

So when we catch a cold, we only have two strategies. How can I avoid an infection if possible and what can I do to get over an infection as quickly as possible. Fortunately, there are several studies and reviews in the scientific literature. We have picked out the most promising tips for you:

  • Vitamin DOur vitamin D levels fall in winter due to the lack of sunlight and vitamin D deficiency often occurs. We can compensate for this with supplementation. The National Institutes of Health recommends a daily dose of 4000 IU (international units) per day. Dr. Peter Attia also takes vitamin D daily to protect against infections. His dose of 5000 IU is slightly higher than the dose generally recommended in America.
  • ZincThis mineral supports our immune system and can work in two ways. On the one hand, it helps with prevention, and on the other, it can reduce the duration of a cold. As it also has a positive effect on blood sugar metabolism in addition to colds, it is included together with chromium in the berberine mineral complex together with chromium.
  • Vitamin C: There are different results in the studies. It does not appear to be suitable for prevention. In some studies, however, the duration of illness could be shortened by half a day - but here too the results are not clear.
  • Vitamin E: A study has shown that vitamin E provides better protection against colds in older people.

Resveratrol powder

29,90 

996,67  / kg

Quercesome (Quercetin capsules)

32,90 

1.154,39  / kg

Vitamin D3 K2

19,90 

663,33  / l

Winter Boost Bundle

75,33 

Red wine for the common cold?

In a rather unusual study, 4272 members of 5 Spanish universities were examined for their frequency of colds. The researchers discovered something strange. The group of red wine drinkers had a lower risk of catching a cold. So does red wine protect against a cold? Probably not.

The whole thing is reminiscent of the French paradox. The resveratrol contained in red wine is presumably responsible for the effect. This secondary plant substance is a polyphenol and has a strong antioxidant and anti-inflammatory effect. It has been identified as a longevity molecule by the laboratory of Harvard professor David Sinclair among others.

Resveratrol from MoleQlar in capsule and powder form
For powder fans and capsule lovers - Trans-Resveratrol from MoleQlar is for everyone.

Secondary plant substances - what are the plant-based alternatives?

Nature is our greatest pharmacy - people have been treating illnesses under this motto for thousands of years. And with good reason. Plants protect themselves against harmful environmental influences with the help of certain molecules. These secondary plant substances not only protect the plant - they also have positive health effects on us humans.

Two natural products have been particularly researched for colds. Garlic and the red coneflower (Echinacea purpurea). Garlic was the most effective in preventing colds. This may be due to its antiviral properties. It did not matter whether the garlic was consumed fresh or in powder form. The only disadvantage described by the test subjects was bad breath: Bad breath.

Tech millionaire and longevity enthusiast Bryan Johnson also relies on the power of garlic. It is among his selection of more than a hundred supplements that the American takes daily to stop ageing.

Broccoli, elderberry or ginger - other helpers at your side

Another favorite in Bryan Johnson's supplement stack is broccoli. The American not only eats large quantities of the green vegetable every day, he also takes broccoli extract in the form of capsules. The main ingredient is sulforaphane. This molecule can not only dampen the inflammatory reaction in the body, but also support our liver in detoxifying harmful substances via the Nrf2 signaling pathway.

Another helper from the plant world is the red coneflower, also known as echinacea. Echinacea has been tested in several studies for colds. The data is not entirely clear, but in this randomized, double-blinded study, scientists found that red coneflower was particularly effective in stopping recurrent colds.

Other molecules from nature are contained in ginger and elderflower. Here, however, the study situation is even thinner. Both substances contain antiviral substances that are thought to provide mild protection.

Literature

  • Katona, Peter, and Judit Katona-Apte. "The interaction between nutrition and infection." Clinical infectious diseases : an official publication of the Infectious Diseases Society of America vol. 46,10 (2008): Link
  • Perera, W P R T et al. "Antiviral Potential of Selected Medicinal Herbs and Their Isolated Natural Products." BioMed research international vol. 2021 7872406. 8 Dec. 2021, Link
  • Nantz, Meri P et al. "Supplementation with aged garlic extract improves both NK and γδ-T cell function and reduces the severity of cold and flu symptoms: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled nutrition intervention." Clinical nutrition (Edinburgh, Scotland) vol. 31,3 (2012): 337-44. link
  • Kaiser, Anna E et al. "Sulforaphane: A Broccoli Bioactive Phytocompound with Cancer Preventive Potential." Cancers vol. 13,19 4796. 25 Sep. 2021. link
  • Petkovic, Marija et al. "Dietary supplementation with sulforaphane ameliorates skin aging through activation of the Keap1-Nrf2 pathway." The Journal of nutritional biochemistry vol. 98 (2021): 108817. link
  • Hickson, LaTonya J et al. "Senolytics decrease senescent cells in humans: Preliminary report from a clinical trial of Dasatinib plus Quercetin in individuals with diabetic kidney disease." EBioMedicine vol. 47 (2019): 446-456. link

Graphics:

The images were purchased under licence from Canva.

More posts from our blog

Lifestyle, Magazin

Erkältung & Immunsystem

Erkältung Immunsystem Vitamind Supplements

Die Tage werden kürzer, draußen wird es kalt und regnerisch und wo vor ein paar Wochen die Bäume noch grün geblüht haben, sind sie nun in ein Gewand aus Rot, Gold und Braun gehüllt. Der Herbst hat begonnen und mit ihm die Erkältungszeit. Auf einmal fängt die Nase an zu laufen, wir fühlen uns schlapp und es stellt sich die Frage. Warum schon wieder?

Was macht uns, gerade im Herbst, so anfällig für Infektionskrankheiten? Warum schafft es unser Immunsystem nicht, uns gegen die Erreger zu verteidigen? Und was ist der Unterschied zwischen einer Grippe und einer Erkältung? Damit du besser informiert bist, geben wir dir einen Überblick und am Ende wirst du auch erfahren, was dich vor solchen Erkrankungen schützt, damit du in Zukunft besser gegen Erkältungen gewappnet bist.

Was ist überhaupt eine Erkältung?

Bevor wir in das Thema hineinstarten, müssen wir erst einmal klären, was eine Erkältung überhaupt ist. Medizinisch versteht man unter dem Begriff eine milde, obere Atemwegsinfektion. Davon abzugrenzen sind beispielsweise die Grippe, ausgelöst durch das Influenzavirus, und eine Covid-19 Infektion.

Nun handelt es sich bei einer Erkältung nicht um eine Erkrankung per se – vielmehr ist es ein Überbegriff für eine ganze Reihe von Erregern, die alle ähnliche Symptome auslösen. Rhinoviren, respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), Parainfluenza oder Adenoviren, all diese Erreger können zu „Erkältungssymptomen“ führen. Dazu zählen:

  • Verstopfte oder laufende Nase
  • Halsschmerzen
  • Kopfschmerzen
  • Abgeschlagenheit
  • Leichter Husten

Die Symptome können bei jedem etwas unterschiedlich sein und in den meisten Fällen hat sich eine Erkältung nach ein paar Tagen erledigt. Je nach Altersgruppe, kann dies aber ganz anders sein. RSV-Infektionen sind der häufigste Grund, warum Kinder in ihrem ersten Lebensjahr ins Krankenhaus müssen. Was die ganze Sache weiter verkompliziert: Jede Viren-Familie hat mehrere hundert Ableger. Infizieren wir uns mit einem Virus, kann das nächste unsere Immunantwort im Zweifel schon wieder austricksen.

Schnupfen Immunsystem Erkältung
Die Erkältungswelle kommt jedes Jahr in etwa zur gleichen Zeit. Je nach Erregerspektrum fallen die Erkrankungen stärker oder milder aus.

Influenza und Covid-19 – verwandt, aber gefährlicher

Ein wenig abgrenzen muss man die Grippe, ausgelöst durch Influenzaviren, von der normalen Erkältung. Eine Infektion mit Influenza kann heftigere Symptome hervorrufen, häufig auch hohes Fieber und ein starkes Krankheitsgefühl. Auch hier heilt die Erkrankung in der Regel von allein aus, hält aber länger an.

Insbesondere bei älteren oder immungeschwächten Menschen, kann eine Influenza Infektion aber auch so schwer verlaufen, dass sie ins Krankenhaus zur ärztlichen Behandlung müssen. Ähnlich wie bei Covid-19, welches im Unterschied zu den Erkältungsviren auch die unteren Atemwege befällt, und dort unter Umständen eine schwere, virale Lungenentzündung auslösen kann.

Warum werden wir im Herbst anfälliger für Erkältungen?

Es gibt viele Faktoren, die dazu führen, dass wir im uns im Herbst häufiger infizieren. Einige davon sind:

  • Weniger Sonnenlicht: Die Tage werden kürzer und durch die geringere Sonneneinstrahlung kann unser Körper weniger Vitamin D produzieren
  • Trockene Luft: In den kalten Jahreszeiten halten wir uns hauptsächlich drinnen auf. Die Heizungsluft trocknet unsere Schleimhäute aus und Viren haben es leichter in unseren Körper einzudringen
  • Saisonalität: Virenpopulationen schwanken im Jahresverlauf. Im Herbst verbreitet sich das Rhinovirus, welches für mehr als ein Viertel aller Erkältungen verantwortlich ist, rasant weiter. Beispielsweise hat auch die UV-Strahlung, die in der kalten Jahreszeit schwächer ist, einen Einfluss auf die Verbreitung von Krankheitserregern.

Fakt oder Mythos? Wer mit nassen Haaren rausgeht, bekommt schneller eine Erkältung. Das ist ein Mythos. Die Kälte, auch wenn sie im Wort Erkältung steckt, hat nur wenig mit dem Infektionsrisiko zu tun. Wir stecken uns tatsächlich eher durch den Mangel an frischer Luft an, da sich die Viren in den trocknen Räumen besonders wohl fühlen. Ein kleines bisschen Wahrheit steckt in der Aussage aber dennoch drin. Nasse Haare lassen uns nämlich etwas schneller auskühlen, was wiederum unser Immunsystem schwächen kann.

Immunsystem Schema Akg
Unser Immunsystem mit seinen unterschiedlichen Effektorzellen wehrt sich gegen Eindringlinge aller Art.

Was können wir tun, um uns gegen Erkältungen zu schützen?

Nachdem wir gesehen haben, dass eine ganze Reihe an Erregern hinter den Symptomen stecken kann, brauchen wir verschiedene Strategien gegen die Viren. Ein paar allgemeine Tipps sind:

  • Häufig (Stoß-)Lüften. Das erneuert die Luft und macht es so für die Viren schwieriger sich im Raum auszubreiten
  • Hygiene. Händewaschen, wie wir in der Pandemie oft gehört haben, kann auch hilfreich sein. Fassen wir uns mit kontaminierten Händen an die Schleimhäute oder ans Auge, können die Viren schneller in den Körper gelangen
  • Sport: Regelmäßiges Training stärkt unser Immunsystem
  • Sauna: Neben einer Stärkung des Immunsystems können regelmäßige Saunabesuche auch schützend gegen kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen sein und sogar die allgemeine Sterblichkeit senken

Welche Nahrungsergänzungsmittel sind sinnvoll?

Geben wir es zu, Erkältungen sind lästig. Jedes Jahr aufs Neue werden wir von Ihnen geplagt und der Arzt oder die Ärztin unseres Vertrauens können auch nicht wirklich weiterhelfen, da es keine Medikamente gegen die Erkältungsviren gibt. Anders bei der Grippe, wo gerade für schwere Fälle antivirale Medikamente existieren.

Bei der Erkältung bleiben uns also nur zwei Strategien. Wie kann ich möglichst eine Infektion vermeiden und was kann ich tun, um eine Infektion so schnell wie möglich zu überstehen. In der wissenschaftlichen Literatur gibt es zum Glück einige Studien und Übersichtsarbeiten. Wir haben für dich die vielversprechendsten Tipps rausgesucht:

  • Vitamin D: Unsere Vitamin D -Spiegel sinken im Winter durch das fehlende Sonnenlicht und es kommt häufig zu einem Vitamin D Mangel. Das können wir durch eine Supplementierung ausgleichen. Das National Institutes of Health empfiehlt dafür eine tägliche Dosis von 4000 IU (internationale Einheiten) pro Tag. Auch Dr. Peter Attia nimmt täglich Vitamin D zum Schutz vor Infektionen. Seine Dosis ist mit 5000 IU etwas höher als die in Amerika allgemein empfohlene Dosis.
  • Zink: Dieses Mineral unterstützt unser Immunsystem und kann auf zwei Arten wirken. Zum einen hilft es bei der Prävention, zum andern kann es die Krankheitsdauer bei einer Erkältung reduzieren. Da es sich neben Erkältungen auch positiv auf den Blutzuckerstoffwechsel auswirkt, ist es gemeinsam mit Chrom im Berberin-Mineral-Komplex enthalten.
  • Vitamin C: Hier gibt es unterschiedliche Ergebnisse in den Studien. Zur Prävention scheint es nicht geeignet zu sein. In einigen Studien konnte aber die Krankheitsdauer um einen halben Tag verkürzt werden – auch hier sind die Ergebnisse aber nicht eindeutig.
  • Vitamin E: In einer Studie konnte bei älteren Menschen ein besserer Schutz vor Erkältungen durch Vitamin E gezeigt werden.

Resveratrol Pulver

29,90 

996,67  / kg

Vitamin D3 K2

19,90 

663,33  / l

Rotwein gegen die Erkältung?

In einer eher ungewöhnlichen Studie wurden 4272 Mitglieder von 5 spanischen Universitäten auf ihre Erkältungshäufigkeit untersucht. Dabei fanden die Untersucher etwas Seltsames heraus. Die Gruppe der Rotweintrinker hatten ein niedrigeres Risiko eine Erkältung zu bekommen. Also schützt nun Rotwein gegen eine Erkältung? Vermutlich nicht.

Das Ganze erinnert an das französische Paradoxon. Vermutlich ist das im Rotwein enthaltene Resveratrol für den Effekt verantwortlich. Dieser sekundäre Pflanzenstoff zählt zu den Polyphenolen und wirkt stark antioxidativ und entzündungshemmend. Als Langlebigkeitsmolekül wird es unter anderem von dem Labor des Harvard Professors David Sinclair erforscht.

Resveratrol von MoleQlar in Kapsel- und Pulverform
Für Pulverfans und Kapselliebhaber - Trans-Resveratrol von MoleQlar ist für alle da.

Sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe – was gibt es für pflanzliche Alternativen?

Die Natur ist unsere größte Apotheke – unter diesem Motto haben Menschen schon seit Jahrtausenden Krankheiten behandelt. Und das mit gutem Grund. Pflanzen schützen sich selbst mit Hilfe bestimmter Moleküle gegen schädliche Umwelteinflüsse. Diese sekundären Pflanzenstoffe schützen nicht nur die Pflanze – sie haben auch positive Gesundheitseffekte bei uns Menschen. Quercetin, ein Flavonoid, das in Kapern oder Zwiebeln vorkommt, wird derzeit auf seine Langlebigkeitseffekte erforscht.

Es wirkt entzündungshemmend, in dem es die Ausschüttung des Botenstoffs Histamin blockiert. Dadurch können beispielsweise die Symptome bei allergischem Asthma, aber auch bei einer Erkältung, gemildert werden.

Speziell für Erkältungskrankheiten sind zwei Naturprodukte besonders erforscht. Knoblauch und der rote Sonnenhut (Echinacea purpurea). Dabei war Knoblauch am effektivsten in der Prävention von Erkältungen. Das mag an seinen antiviralen Eigenschaften liegen. Dabei war es egal, ob der Knoblauch frisch oder in Pulverform konsumiert wurde. Der einzige Nachteil, den die ProbandInnen beschrieben haben: Mundgeruch.

Auch der Tech-Millionär und Longevity Enthusiast Bryan Johnson vertraut auf die Kraft des Knoblauchs. Es zählt zu seiner Auswahl von mehr als hundert Supplements, die der Amerikaner täglich nimmt, um das Altern aufzuhalten.

Brokkoli, Holunder oder Ingwer – weitere Helfer an deiner Seite

Ein weiterer Favorit in Bryan Johnsons Supplement-Stack, ist Brokkoli. Der Amerikaner isst nicht nur täglich große Mengen des grünen Gemüses, er nimmt Brokkoli Extrakt auch in Form von Kapseln zu sich. Der Hauptinhaltsstoff ist das Sulforaphan. Dieses Molekül kann nicht nur die Entzündungsreaktion im Körper dämpfen, sondern auch über den Nrf2-Signalweg unsere Leber bei der Entgiftung von Schadstoffen unterstützen.

Ein weiterer Helfer aus der Pflanzenwelt ist der rote Sonnenhut, auch bekannt als Echinacea. Echinacea wurde in mehreren Studien bei Erkältungen getestet. Die Datenlage ist nicht ganz eindeutig, aber in dieser randomisierten, doppelt verblindeten Arbeit konnten die Wissenschaftler herausfinden, dass der rote Sonnenhut besonders effektiv war, um immer wiederkehrende Erkältungen zu stoppen.

Weitere Moleküle aus der Natur sind im Ingwer und in der Holunderblüte enthalten. Hier wird die Studienlage allerdings noch dünner. Beide Stoffen enthalten antivirale Substanzen, von denen man einen leichten Schutz vermutet.

Literatur

  • Katona, Peter, and Judit Katona-Apte. “The interaction between nutrition and infection.” Clinical infectious diseases : an official publication of the Infectious Diseases Society of America vol. 46,10 (2008): Link
  • Perera, W P R T et al. “Antiviral Potential of Selected Medicinal Herbs and Their Isolated Natural Products.” BioMed research international vol. 2021 7872406. 8 Dec. 2021, Link
  • Nantz, Meri P et al. “Supplementation with aged garlic extract improves both NK and γδ-T cell function and reduces the severity of cold and flu symptoms: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled nutrition intervention.” Clinical nutrition (Edinburgh, Scotland) vol. 31,3 (2012): 337-44. Link
  • Kaiser, Anna E et al. “Sulforaphane: A Broccoli Bioactive Phytocompound with Cancer Preventive Potential.” Cancers vol. 13,19 4796. 25 Sep. 2021. Link
  • Petkovic, Marija et al. “Dietary supplementation with sulforaphane ameliorates skin aging through activation of the Keap1-Nrf2 pathway.” The Journal of nutritional biochemistry vol. 98 (2021): 108817. Link
  • Hickson, LaTonya J et al. “Senolytics decrease senescent cells in humans: Preliminary report from a clinical trial of Dasatinib plus Quercetin in individuals with diabetic kidney disease.” EBioMedicine vol. 47 (2019): 446-456. Link

Grafiken:

Die Bilder wurden unter der Lizenz von Canva erworben.

Weitere Beiträge aus unserem Blog